The Executive Committee of the Sierra Leone Football Association (slfa) Has Appointed Technical


Director, John Jebboh Sherrington in a Caretaker Capacity in Charge of the Leone Stars for This Weekend’

The Executive Committee of the Sierra Leone Football Association (SLFA) has appointed Technical Director, John Jebboh Sherrington in a caretaker capacity in charge of the Leone Stars for this weekend’s 2017 AFCON qualifier against Sudan in Khartoum.

Months ago, the SLFA aertised the position of Head Coach but has yet to complete the process, hence elevating Sherrington to an interim capacity for the Group I opener billed for Sunday, 14 June 2015 in the Sudanese capital.

“Having gone through the applications, we realized that we cannot complete the process before the Sudan match and therefore we are left with the option of selecting a care taker coach. This coach will only be responsible for the match in Khartoum,” SLFA First Vice President, Brima Mazolla Kamara disclosed at a press conference at the weekend.

Sherrington has appointed Charlie Wright and Joseph Toby to assist him while Tamba Moses and Mohamed Bowen Freeman will serve as Goalkeepers and Fitness coaches respectively.

Meanwhile, the coaching staff has called up a 20-man squad comprising of only four foreign-based players for the Sudan encounter.

Hosts Gabon will engage holders Cote d’Ivoire in the other Group I clash in Libreville.

Full squad

Goalkeepers: Unisa Koroma (East End Lions), Unisa Conteh (FC Johansen), Ibrahim Bah (Mighty Blackpool)

Defenders: Umaru Bangura (Dynamo Minsk, Belarus), Abu Suma (FC Johansen), Mohamed Kamanor (FC Kallon), Ibrahim Kamara (FC Johansen), Yeami Dunia (FC Johansen), Osman Y. Kamara (East End Lions),

Midfielders: Mohamed Kamara (Maccabi Haifa, Israel), John Kamara (PAS Lamia, Greece), Ibrahim Sorie Barrie (FC Johansen), Abu Bakarr Mansaray (Old Edwardians), Kwame Quee (FC Johansen)

Forwards: Kei Kamara (Columbus Crew, USA), Abdul Bangura (FC Johansen), Kabiru Mansaray (FC Kallon), Mustapha Bangura (Nikos Socratis Erimi, Cyprus), Badara Kella (Kamboi Eagles), Christian Moses (FC Kallon), Sallieu Tarawallie (FC Kallon)

Source : Confederation of African Football